Jury 2020

Back to Home

Guaranteed professional

FEDORA is working in close collaboration with multiple partner organisations in the pre-selection process of applications:

Opera Europa - the Professional Association of Opera Houses and Festivals in Europe, the leading professional network representing over 200 opera companies and opera festivals in 43 different European countries, RESEO - the European Network for opera, music, dance and education which brings together organisations and artists to promote innovation and equal access to creativity and IMZ International Music + Media Centre, a global business network for more than 150 member organisations with the mission to promote the performing arts in and through audiovisual media.

All opera and ballet applications received are assessed by Opera Europa under the direction of Nicholas Payne, director of Opera Europa.
Education projects are pre-selected jointly by RESEO, under the direction of Rhian Hutchings, chair of RESEO, and Mr Bernard Foccroulle, former director of the Théâtre Royal de la Monnaie and of Festival d'Aix-en-Provence.
Digital projects are assessed by IMZ International Music + Media Centre, represented by Mr Peter Maniura, former Head of Digital Development at BBC Arts.

A jury of
International Experts

The pre-selected opera, ballet, education and digital projects are presented to four juries of experts in the fields of opera, ballet, education and digital who assess the applications, nominate projects and select the winners of the FEDORA Prizes.

The FEDORA prizes
Biennale Jury

  • Pierre Audi

    Pierre Audi

    General Director
    Festival d'Aix-en-Provence

  • Laura Berman

    Laura Berman

    Staatsoper Hannover

  • Sophie de Lint

    Sophie de Lint

    Dutch National Opera

  • Kasper Holten

    Kasper Holten

    Royal Danish Theatre

  • Joan Matabosch

    Joan Matabosch

    Artistic Director
    Teatro Real

  • Nicholas Payne

    Nicholas Payne

    Opera Europa

  • Caroline Sonrier

    Caroline Sonrier

    Opéra de Lille

  • Birgitta Svendén

    Birgitta Svendén

    Former General and Artistic Director
    Royal Swedish Opera

  • Eleonora Abbagnato

    Eleonora Abbagnato

    Balletto del Teatro dell'Opera di Roma

  • Ted Brandsen

    Ted Brandsen

    Dutch National Ballet

  • Sharon Eyal

    Sharon Eyal

    L-E-V Dance Company

  • Laurent Hilaire

    Laurent Hilaire

    Stanislavsky Ballet

  • Nicolas Le Riche

    Nicolas Le Riche

    Artistic Director
    Royal Swedish Ballet

  • JohannesOhman-1-sv-v©MatsBäcker

    Johannes Öhman

    Artistic Director
    Dansens Hus

  • Madeleine Onne

    Madeleine Onne

    Artistic Director
    Finnish National Ballet

  • Nicholas Payne

    Nicholas Payne

    Opera Europa

  • Helen Shute

    Helen Shute

    Chief Executive/Executive Producer

  • Bernard Foccroulle

    Bernard Foccroulle

    Former Director
    Festival d'Aix-en-Provence / La Monnaie

  • Renate Futterknecht

    Renate Futterknecht

    Head of Administration / Deputy General Artistic Director
    Theater an der Wien

  • Hannah Griffiths

    Hannah Griffiths

    General Manager
    Birmingham Opera Company

  • Rhian Hutchings

    Rhian Hutchings


  • Barbara Minghetti

    Barbara Minghetti

    Artistic Director
    Macerata Opera Festival

  • Anne-Kathrin Ostrop

    Anne-Kathrin Ostrop

    Head of Education
    Komische Oper Berlin

  • Panaghis Pagoulatos

    Panaghis Pagoulatos

    Director of Artistic Programming & Casting
    Greek National Opera

  • Ditte Feuk

    Ditte Feuk

    Head of Theatre, Opera and Dance
    SVT Drama

  • Christopher Hampson

    Christopher Hampson

    CEO/Artistic Director
    Scottish Ballet

  • Renee Hunt

    Renee Hunt

    Director of Digital Platforms and Delivery

  • Katharina Jeschke_ Pressefoto 2021_c_Natascha Unkart & Isabelle Köhler

    Katharina Jeschke

    Secretary General
    IMZ International Music + Media Centre

  • Tod Machover

    Tod Machover

    Composer, Professor of Music & Media and Director of the Media Lab's Opera of the Future group
    MIT Media Lab

  • Peter Maniura

    Peter Maniura

    IMZ Academy

  • Laurent Métivier

    Laurent Métivier

    Head of Audiovisual Department
    Opéra national de Paris

  • Kent Nagano

    Kent Nagano

    General Music Director of Hamburg Opera and
    Music Director of Orchestre symphonique de Montréal

  • Ulrich Schrauth

    Ulrich Schrauth

    Artistic Director
    VRHAM! Virtual Reality & Arts Festival

  • Zillah Watson

    Zillah Watson

    Commissioning Editor for Virtual Reality


Support sustainable innovation in opera and dance

Outdated browser

For a better experience,
keep your browser up to date.

Learn more